To all the people who post comments

31Jan05

I am posting this comment which I received on one of my pieces…

Pravi said… this expression of urs gives a picture tht somewhere u feel urself to be inferior, in someway or other…say being a ‘woman’.or is it some ppl around u, who r makin u feel like tht?Did u ever heard/read a man sayin this? Its all tht resides in ur mind..the way u perceive things in this world. If its jus our social fabric thts influencing ur thoughts, then its a right time to put a check.U need not say it at the top of ur voice..if u r good U R…give a thought, i’ve perceived u to be a rational girlwell, dont confuse me to be a ‘mcp’…u still know little about me… :)cheers!

While I believe in freedom of expression, it is things like these that get me all riled up. It is exactly against this kind MALE CHAUVINISTIC behaviour that I am writing.

Gentlemen, while I greatly appreciate your wonderful comments, I do not think it very nice of you to post comments which not only anger but which are also said without any thought.

Please do not take the fact that I am unable to delete your comments for granted.

And Pravi, I am not cheering.

The comment was in answer to this:

I do not want to live a prisoner, ashamed of being a woman. I am not going to be a consenting captive of a psychopathic social system, but a native. I want to feel at home, keep house, and be my own mistress, with a room of my own. I want to do my work there, whatever I may be good at, art or science or technology or running a company or sweeping under the beds, and when someone tells me that it’s all crappy second class work because a woman is doing it, I will tell them to go to hell. I want to live, not be despised for living. I am not weak, helpless, uncontrolled. I want to live without the need to dominate, and without the need to be dominated. I never want to be a victim, but I do not want any power over other people. When I fail, lie defeated; in pain and in the dark, I will remember that darkness is my country. I live there, no wars are fought there, no wars are won. Only, only the future is found here. I am going to my country on my own terms, in my own way, I am going to live through the night…and find my future.

No Responses Yet to “To all the people who post comments”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

