A reminder

08Jan12

I like to say technology and Steve Jobs introduced me to The Beatles. In 2005, I had just completed a month at Google, I chanced upon Manan Singhi’s music library on iTunes. (ITunes libraries can be shared among users on a common LAN and we used to try and get to work early so that we could get access – the number of users per library in those days was restricted) One fine morning in Hyderabad, I heard ‘I am the Walrus’ in Manan’s library and that started a long romance with this band of poets and rebels and wanderers.

Looking back in 2012, no other singer comes this close to what I feel for the music of The Beatles.

Along the way, many singers and musicians have come and gone, some songs I will never forget. Surrounded by auto tune, rude rapping songs, clones of R&B, sometimes it takes something very simple like this cover of While My Guitar Gently Weeps to remind myself true love is TS Eliot put to song by four very talented dreamers.

No Responses Yet to “A reminder”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

