Norah, such a pretty name; did we make you cry?

24Mar13

Living in Singapore has made the music lover in me very happy. I have watched some amazing concerts  where talent clearly shows (Richard Marx), some concerts for which I had high expectations but came away under whelmed (Lady Gaga), a wonderful Beatles homage band that made me dance with a thousand other people and transported us back into time (The Bootleg Beatles), and of course, a chance to see a childhood staple boyband (Westlife). I am not going to apologize for Westlife alright, it was an interesting experience.

This is a terrible blurry photo but I like to think he was looking at me when I took it LOL

This is a terrible blurry photo but I like to think he was looking at me when I took it LOL

A couple weeks ago, I went for a Norah Jones concert. While her voice is beautiful and husky and perfect for the type of songs she sings, I felt it was a colorless performance. She has no personality, did not chat with the audience, launched into (boring) song after song, and seemed uninvolved. She only came to life when she sang but I couldn’t bring myself to enjoy it (I dozed off at one point) and really really turned fidgety. The only songs that stayed with me were Miriam and the song that made her famous, Come Away With Me. Miriam was haunting and her vocals made the premise even more chilling. Her young face casually singing about killing the mistress of her partner, it was jarring yet what an ethereal song.

I know, the question is so obviously I don’t seem like a major fan. Why did I go in the first place. I attend concerts to get to know these singers and bands we listen to. You can tell something about them, about their creative process and what they are like people if you watch them live. And I don’t really go by how they sound live – the only artist who sounds AMAZING and pure live is Richard Marx. No joke. Richard Marx was also funny and engaging, and he kept the audience enthralled with stories from his long career. My favourite part of his concert was when he walked into the audience (obviously no one jumped him considering the average age of the audience was 50+) but he gave out hugs and seemed so happy to be there.

Handsome!

Handsome!

Speaking of happy, I managed to sneak in some photos of Jones, and as you can see, she looked faintly annoyed to be there that night. Maybe it was the jet lag, I don’t know. She did perform at the Oscars a couple days before she hit up Singapore.

Slight smile here. They were singing a bunch of boring country songs at this point.

No smile here. They were singing a bunch of boring country songs at this point.

Some more country. Zzzz

Some more country. Zzzz

Now she looks like she wants to eat whoever she's looking at.

Now she looks like she wants to eat whoever she’s looking at.

By now, I was earning some sweet points on Candy Crush. The Australian gentleman next to me was gently snoring.

By now, I was earning some sweet points on Candy Crush. The Australian gentleman next to me was gently snoring.

I am sorry Miss Jones, please don't be mad. Smile!

I am sorry Miss Jones, please don’t be mad. Smile!

The set tried to be all whimsical and dreamy but it made no sense. Why do you have birds hanging stiffly? Are they all Miriam?

The set tried to be all whimsical and dreamy but it made no sense. Why do you have birds hanging stiffly? Are they all Miriam?

Anyway, smile Miss Jones! Sorry we caused you so much annoyance! Xoxo

Why so serious?

Why so serious?

No Responses Yet to “Norah, such a pretty name; did we make you cry?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

