My Favorite Makeup Items

15Jun13

Makeup

When I was in college, a thick layer of kajal, a spritz of perfume and a leaving my hair free and flowing constituted a ‘made up look.’ 6 years after, my best friend, Hen, introduced me to the world of mineral makeup and thus, my palate for makeup underwent a change to become something more sophisticated.

This is not a beauty blog really, I tend to write random posts about things that mean something to me. And makeup and having a nice pleasant face as a result of it definitely mean something to me. A made out face, a short skirt and a pair of high heels give me great confidence. To the people who will turn their noses up at this and call me shallow or following traditional roles, you can keep your opinions to yourself, and I will keep mine.

Over the years, I have learnt how to apply makeup dexterously and well – and as I have learned new things about this fantastic universe (for example, multiple make up brands such Lancome, Armani, Ralph Lauren, Garnier, Maybelline, Shu Uemura etc all belong to L’Oreal) I have developed an extra fondness for certain brands and certain products.

Here are the brands I use for a more natural look (with the exception of the lipstick).

  1. Estee Lauder’s Day Moisturizing Face Cream – I love this because it gets absorbed quickly, without being sticky and the bottle lasts long.
  2. L’Oreal’s True Match Concealer – I use this for my under eye dark circles. I don’t like it much, it’s tough to blend in and that’s a major hassle when you have 2 mins to get out the door in the mornings.
  3. Lancome’s Teint Miracle Foundation – Great coverage, almost flawless finish. And it is a joy to blend in – I love this with all my heart. It is also super light; it doesn’t feel I am wearing foundation. On an aside, I love all Lancome products. They are so much easier on the skin and high quality.
  4. Bourjois’ Face Powder – I have been using this compact powder since 2008 I think. It goes all over my face with a light dusting, does not cake and is so light that I forget I am wearing any.
  5. Too Faced Matte Eye Shadow – I like this palette because all the colors are muted and matte. They are also easy to apply – however, if they fall on your cheek, it’s a nightmare to remove the color without needing to touch up your foundation. Special shout out to all the Beyu eye shadows – the pigments last long even without primer. I didn’t remember the name when I was creating the image but it’s the Beyu eye shadow I use more than anything else.
  6. Stila’s Eye Liner – I love this, the pen is easy to hold and it makes a nice light line which you can draw over to darken. I am still getting used to eyeliner so the light lines give me scope to correct any mistakes. Also, it lasts for a really long time!
  7. Himalaya Eye Kajal – Another long lasting product. This kajal travels everywhere with me  – if you haven’t ever used kajal before, I don’t think this will work for you but it makes lovely thick or thin lines, depending on how you like them.
  8. Makeup Forever Mascara – I have a few favorite mascaras, and this is one of them. Depending on use, you can use it for a day look or a night partying look. Special shoutouts to Bobbi Brown and Silky Girl. The Silky Girl mascara is heaven – your eyelashes do not clump or stick to your cheeks. Unfortunately, I think it is available on in Singapore and Taiwan.
  9. The Body Shop’s Blush – I have a bunch of blush products but this is my standard go to. I don’t even need to use a brush to apply, I rub my hands over my cheeks and it’s done. I also love the light color that can be used as a highlighter.
  10. Any Lancome lipstick. They are gorgeous, smell amazing, and glide over your lips without chafing or creating those ugly deep grooves. I love Lancome.
  11. Makeup brushes by Sephora – I have a few MAC brushes but I use the ones from Sephora more frequently. Not only are they cheaper, but they are also long lasting, clean well and do not waste much product.

If I had to give advice on the 3 top must buy from this list, I would say:

  1. Lancome’s Teint Miracle Foundation
  2. Makeup Forever Mascara
  3. Lancome’s Lipsticks

Enjoy and hope this inspires as much as Hen inspired me!

3 Responses to “My Favorite Makeup Items”

  1. 1 Must Have Boxes

    Great picks! Love that lipstick color.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. Have you tried Lancome’s mascara!? I love the hypnose drama mascara! I’ve never found anything better! Love your blog! 🙂

    http://www.beautybyericakate.wordpress.com

    • 3 Tanushree

      I have! It is amazing, doesn’t clump as much and really makes your lashes look ultra dramatic 🙂


Leave a Reply

